2017 Best and Fairest Results

Published on: Oct 18 2017 | Author: Joseph Marciano |

Consistent defender, Alex Georgiou has claimed the inaugural 2017 Michael Taylor Medal.

The hard defender won his first ever Best and Fairest since returning to the Parade in 2015.

Georgiou finished the count on 61 votes, earning his first best and fairest just four votes clear of dominant ruckman Sam Baulderstone, with the 2017 Magarey Medallist Mitch Grigg finishing third with 58 votes.

Georgiou, was one of the shining lights in 2017 as his ability to nullify the opposition’s number one key forward saw him recognised as a part of the inaugural 40 man Team of the Year squad.

Captain of the Norwood Football Club, Jace Bode lead for most of the night however a hamstring injury sustained against the Eagles in Round 15 sidelined him for the remainder of the year.

Georgiou who is part of the leadership group, is now the first ever winner of the Michael Taylor Medal and is something in which he is extremely humble about.

“Obviously, Kingo (Michael Taylor) was a champion player for the club so it’s only just that the award of the Best and Fairest is named after him and he’s (Michael Taylor) recognised in that manner,” said Georgiou.

“First and foremost it’s a massive honour, as a guy who plays at full back I didn’t expect to ever come close to winning a Best and Fairest, but obviously it’s a very proud moment to win such a prestigious award for this Football Club.”

Earlier in the evening Josh Miller was awarded the Reserves Best & Fairest, Michelle Reid won the Women’s Best and Fairest while young gun Tyler Martin won the 18s Best and Fairest.

See below for a full list of award winners and the final leaderboard.

Senior Award Winners

Michael Taylor Medal (Best & Fairest): Alex Georgiou
Runner-Up Best & Fairest: Sam Baulderstone
Third Best & Fairest: Mitch Grigg
Gary Mcintosh Award (Best Team Man): Andrew Kirwan
Woods Medallist: Matthew Panos
League Leading Goalkicker: Kristian Roocke (25 Goals)
McCallum Trophy (Rising Star): Chris Olsson
Reserves Coaches Award: Chris Olsson
Reserves Best and Fairest: Josh Miller
Under 18 Best and Fairest: Tyler Martin
Women’s Best and Fairest: Michelle Reid

Final Leaderboard

1.  Alex Georgiou – 61
2. Sam Baulderstone – 59
3. Mitch Grigg – 58
4. Andrew Kirwan – 54
5. Matthew Panos – 51
6. Brady Dawe – 51
7. Matt Fuller – 51
8. Cameron Shenton – 51
9. Kristian Roocke – 50
10. Jace Bode – 50



Major Partner

Stadium Partner

Platinum Partners

True Red and Blue Partners