Five Redlegs recognised for SANFL Team of the Year

Published on: Sep 11 2017 | Author: jeaton |

Mitch Grigg, Matt Panos, Sam Baulderstone, Kristian Roocke and Alex Georgiou have been rewarded for their outstanding seasons, named in the 2017 SANFL Maccas League Team of the Year extended squad.

The Norwood five feature in the 40-man squad which will be trimmed to 21 at the Team of the year function on Tuesday September 19.

Dominant Redlegs ruckman, Sam Baulderstone enjoyed a fine season, leading the competition for hit-outs averaging 38.6 per game.

Former Adelaide Crow, Mitch Grigg was superb in his first year back at the Parade. The inside midfielder averaged 25 disposals in the 17 games he played. Fellow on-baller Matt Panos played his part also in 2017 earning another team of the year selection. Although only playing the 13 games Panos averaged 26 disposals and kicked 17 goals.

Medium sized forward/midfielder Kristian Roocke, earnt his spot also in the side after a pretty consistent season. Roocke finished as Norwood’s leading goalkicker in 2017 finishing with 26 majors at the end of the minor round.

Always reliable defender, Alex Georgiou continued to flourish down back for the Redlegs once again in season 2017. Georgiou’s ability to nullify the best forward for the opposition each week was certainly enough to capture the eyes of the selectors.

The 2017 SANFL Team of the Year squad features at least one player from all competing clubs.

This year’s team will be selected by SANFL’s Adam Kelly, Tom Hurley and Zac Milbank, Channel 7’s Mark Soderstrom and The Advertiser’s Chief SANFL Writer, Warren Partland.

A coach, captain and vice-captain of the SANFL Team of the Year will also be named.


NFC Media Writer

Joseph Marciano

Major Partner

Stadium Partner

Platinum Partners

True Red and Blue Partners