Published on: Aug 17 2017 | Author: georgia |

The Redlegs key victories over the Port Adelaide Magpies:

2014 SANFL Grand Final: Norwood 12-10- (82) def Port Magpies 11-12- (78)

Best: Panos, McGuinness, Baulderstone, Smart, Phillips, Webber, Allan, Kirwan

Goalkickers: 3 Phillips, Davis, 2 Newton, 1 Panos, Bartlett, Baulderstone, Donohue

The Norwood Football Club out classed Port Adelaide by 4 points in an electrifying Grand Final back in 2014. The win sealed Norwood’s third Premiership in a row, with Matt Panos winning the Jack Oatey Medal for being judged as best on ground.


1984 SANFL Grand Final: Norwood 15-10- (100) def Port Magpies 13-13- (91)

Best: K.Thomas, L Ross, N Roberts, C Balme, G.Thomas, M.Aish, B Winter, A Jarvis, J Scanlon.

Goalkickers: N Roberts 6, M.Aish 2, K.Thomas 2, D Fosdike 2, G Vardanega 2, G McIntosh

Norwood’s thrilling nine-point premiership victory over Port Adelaide at Football Park was a dazzling, glorious triumph of courage.  In one of the truly great contests before a crowd of 50,271, Norwood created history to become the first club to win a premiership after finishing fifth at the end of the minor round.


1997 SANFL Grand Final: Norwood 19-12- (126) def Port Magpies 7-11- (53)

Best: J.Cunningham, S.Pitt, A.Harvey, L.Bowman, S.Eastaugh, A.Jarman, G.D’Antiochia, D.Obst, T.Clements, J.Thiessen.

Goalkickers: J West, A Harvey 3, J Cunningham, A Pascoe, R.James, S.Bassett 2, J D’Antiochia, S Eastaugh, T Clements, G Molloy, S Rowe 1.

Norwood go on to record a resounding win in the Grand Final decider. After an intense opening term, the Redlegs would kick away to a convincing 73-point victory over the Magpies. As fate would have it, John Cunningham, the man who suffered a seemingly season-ending injury, would go on to win the Jack Oatey Medal as the best player afield.


2008 Elimination Final: Norwood 18.11. (119) def Port 15- 8- (98) by 21pts

The Redlegs defeated the Port Magpies by 21-points in week one of the finals in 2008. Now Adelaide Crows Captain Taylor Walker bagged seven goals, while inspirational Captain James Gallagher earned himself the best on ground honours.


2015 SANFL Round 4 Anzac Round: Norwood 7-14- (56) def Port 5-5- (35) by 21 pts

Best: J. Allan, S. Baulderstone, P. Persinos, M. Chippendale, J. Bode, E. Smart

Goalkickers: P. Persinos 4, J. Donohue, K. Murphy, J. Allan

The Redlegs faced their original rivals Port Adelaide on a cold rainy night at Adelaide Oval in their traditional Anzac Day fixture in 2015. This was Port’s first chance of redemption since the 2014 Premiership loss, however Norwood were able to nullify the influence of Port’s dangerous players winning by 21 points.

Major Partner

Stadium Partner

Platinum Partners

True Red and Blue Partners