Club News

2019 SANFL Leadership Group

Jace Bode will captain Norwood for a third straight season as part of an eight-man leadership group.

Important midfielder Matthew Panos was named vice captain after becoming one of the Redlegs’ on-field generals over the past three seasons.

Two times Magarey Medallist Mitch Grigg and veteran defender Alex Georgiou were included in the group again, with Mitch Wilkins also included as for the first time.

Tall forward Brady Dawe will continue again, as well as Ed Smart and the ever versatile Cameron Shenton.

The Leadership Group itself is very similar to 2018 despite the addition of Mitch Wilkins who fills the void left by 2013 Premiership Player, Matthew Fuller.

Senior Coach Jarrod Cotton said Wilkins had grown into a standout leader who commanded respect from his teammates.

“There’s only the one change for this year being Mitch Wilkins who comes into the role after the retirement of Matthew Fuller,” Cotton said.

“It’s a great credit for Mitch; he’s trained really well and is a great leader around the group.

“We want to as a club develop those people through the Leadership Group, so he thoroughly deserves his spot.

“Overall, the group as a whole is much the same; they did a fantastic job last year so I am really excited for those guys to get the opportunity again.”

After being selected in the Leadership Group for the first time, Mitch Wilkins said it was an honour to stand alongside his peers as a leader of the Norwood Football Club.

“It’s a great feeling to be seen as a leader amongst your teammates, peers and people you look up to,” Wilkins said.

“To fit that role is quite a humbling experience and something I am really proud of.

“As a person I just want to keep playing my part for the team and keep helping people along the way.”

2019 Norwood FC Leadership Group:

Jace Bode (Captain)
Matthew Panos (Vice-Captain)
Mitch Grigg
Brady Dawe
Cameron Shenton
Mitch Wilkins
Ed Smart
Alex Georgiou