2022 7News Adelaide SANFL Goal of the Year


Five quality contenders have been short-listed to be selected as the 2022 7News Adelaide SANFL Goal of the Year.

Norwood pair Matthew Panos and Baynen Lowe, South Adelaide duo Ryan Garthwaite and Kim Kantilla and Port Adelaide’s Anthony Wilson have had their individual pieces of play rewarded as the overall winner is now selected by SANFL fans.

Panos, who could win his second Jack Oatey Medal in Sunday’s Grand Final after winning it in 2014, was nominated for his fairytale match-winner against Adelaide in Round 8.

Playing his first game in 628 days due to a serious knee injury, the premiership Redleg stole the victory from the Crows after playing on and letting fly from just inside 50m.

Panos’ teammate Lowe, also preparing to play in Sunday’s title-decider, was nominated for his miracle snap on his left foot while in the air against Central in Round 7.

Panthers defender Ryan Garthwaite put the icing on his match-winning final term against Port Adelaide with his ball-bursting torpedo punt after the siren in Round 18.

South teammate Kim Kantilla got the nod for his display of hard-running off the ball, having started the initial scoring chain at half-back before getting on the end of it in the goal square during Round 5.

Port’s Anthony Wilson, who won the 2017 SANFL Goal of the Year, is in the running for his second gong after producing a stunning checkside snap hard up against the boundary line in Round 16.

You can vote for your favourite goal at the link below, with the overall winner to be announced to be announced in Channel 7’s telecast of the Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final on Sunday.

Goal 1 - Matthew Panos (Norwood)

Goal 2 - Baynen Lowe (Norwood)

Goal 3 - Ryan Garthwaite (South)

Goal 4 - Anthony Wilson (Port)

Goal 5 - Kim Kantilla (South)