40 SANFL players selected for AFL Covid Contingency Lists

SANFL congratulates the 40 Hostplus SANFL League players selected by Adelaide and Port Adelaide for AFL Covid Contingency Lists.

The AFL Top Up Players Covid contingency plan, announced by the AFL last week, provides AFL clubs with a pool of State League players to draw upon should they have less than 28 players to select from their original list.

In addition to selecting four players from their SANFL-contracted player list, Adelaide and Port Adelaide were permitted to select a maximum of four players from each of their four Next Generation Academy-aligned SANFL clubs.

Central District, Glenelg, North Adelaide and Sturt are aligned to the Crows while Norwood, South Adelaide, West Adelaide and Woodville-West Torrens are aligned to the Power.

”SANFL congratulates the 40 players selected in the Covid Contingency Lists and wishes them all the best should they be required to play for Adelaide or Port Adelaide football clubs this season at the highest level of our game,” SANFL General Manager Football Matt Duldig said.

”We are proud of the eight SANFL Clubs’ successful development of our strong pool of talent in SA, and the players who represent the Hostplus SANFL League with distinction.

”While losing players mid season is not typically a model SANFL supports, after working with the AFL we believe this structure ensures the strength and integrity of our competition will be protected should the need arise for AFL Covid Contingency List players to be activated.”

Adelaide Covid Contingency List


Jay Boyle

Nathan Freeman

Matthew Wright

Isaya McKenzie



Luke Partington

Corey Lyons

Sam Durdin

Matthew Allen


Central District

Justin Hoskin

Kyle Presbury

Travis Schiller

Billy McCormack



Malachy Carruthers

Daniel Fahey-Sparks

Tom Lewis

Casey Voss


North Adelaide

Alex Spina

Campbell Combe

Harrison Wigg

Aaron Young


Port Adelaide Covid Contingency List

Port Adelaide

Trent Burgoyne

Matthew Lobbe

Luke Surman

Cameron Sutcliffe



Declan Hamilton

Ben Jarvis

Jacob Kennerley

Jay Rantall


South Adelaide

Keegan Brooksby

Oscar Clavarino

Ryan Garthwaite

Bryce Gibbs


West Adelaide

Kaiden Brand

Hamish Hartlett

Tom Keough

Josh Ryan


Woodville-West Torrens

Connor Ballenden

Dylan Clarke

Daniel Menzel

Troy Menzel