NFC Senior Women

Buethke, Halfpenny & Maher to represent SA

Norwood’s Tahlita Buethke, Tesharna Maher and Jade Halfpenny will represent SA in the SANFLW V WAFLW match in Perth this Saturday. 

Buethke has been outstanding for the Redlegs since crossing to Norwood from South Adelaide ahead of the 2023 season, going on to win the club’s SANFLW Best and Fairest.

Both Halfpenny and Maher have been very consistent SANFLW performers across 50 matches, with Maher winning Norwood’s 2022 Best and Fairest, and Halfpenny spending two seasons on Port Adelaide’s AFLW list.

Glenelg captain Sam Franson has been chosen to lead the SANFLW State Team in its historic encounter.

Versatile utility Franson, the Tigers’ sole skipper this season after sharing duties with Ellie Kellock in 2023, will be joined by fellow SANFLW captains Shelby Smith (Central District) and Annie Falkenberg (Woodville-West Torrens) in the three-player leadership group.

“It’s an honor just to be a part of this squad and now the team and to lead you guys, who are the best in the League, hopefully I will do you all proud,” Franson told her teammates after last night’s announcement at training.

To be coached by Crows AFLW assistant Courtney Cramey, the Croweaters have trimmed their squad from 30 down to the 22 players who will make the trip across the Nullarbor to face the Sandgropers.

Boasting AFLW experienced players such as Hannah Button, Jade Halfpenny and Caitlin Wendland, SA features plenty of star power with Central premiership captain Smith and Glenelg’s 2022 SANFLW Best and Fairest Jessica Bates among those bound for the centre square.

South Adelaide’s Soriah Moon looms as a key player to lead the ruck while her Panthers’ teammate Laquoiya Cockatoo-Motlap and Redlegs pair Tahlita Buethke and Tesharna Maher will provide plenty of outside run and carry.

Fresh from her game-winning goal for the Bulldogs in Round 8, SANFLW leading goalkicker Katelyn Rosenzweig looms as the Croweaters’ key focal point in attack.

The highly-anticipated clash will be played at Optus Stadium from 4.45pm SA time as a curtain-raiser for the West Coast v Essendon AFL match.

It will be the first time since the Hostplus SANFLW League was established in 2017 that a Women’s State League clash takes place on the domestic stage.

The match can be viewed live and on demand for free on SANFL Now.

By Zac Milbank SANFL and Josh Teakle NFC

2024 SANFLW State Team – Final 22

1 Tesharna Maher Norwood
2 Laitiah Huynh Central
3 Tahlita Buethke Norwood
4 Caitlin Wendland Central
5 Sam Franson (Captain) Glenelg
6 Alisha Gepp Sturt
8 Annie Falkenberg (Vice Captain) Eagles
9 Zoe Venning West
10 Shelby Smith (Vice Captain) Central
11 Poppy Waterford Eagles
12 Isobel Kuiper Sturt
14 Tiffany King South
15 Marie Martino Glenelg
16 Jessica Bates Glenelg
18 Sarah Steele-Park North
19 Christina Leuzzi Eagles
21 Laquoiya Cockatoo-Motlap South
22 Jade Halfpenny Norwood
23 Sophie Zuill Eagles
25 Hannah Button West
30 Katelyn Rosenzweig Central
32 Soriah Moon South