Club News

Captain Confirmed: Panos to lead the Redlegs

2014 Premiership Player and Jack Oatey Medallist Matthew Panos has today been announced as the 57th Captain of the Norwood Football Club.

The silky midfielder is a Jack Oatey medallist, Premiership player in the 2014 grand final and a Best and Fairest winner in 2016.

Today, Panos adds another milestone to his career, joining the select few who have been captain of the club in its 142-year history.

He ascends to that mantle replacing his close friend, Jace Bode, who last year retired from SANFL football.

Panos, 28, is not unlike Bode in a lot of ways, mostly in that he leads by the way he plays.

Panos has been a part of the leadership group for several years, developing his leadership skillset under Bode as well as Alex Georgiou.

So often in recent seasons when the Redlegs have needed to find a match-winning gear, it has been Panos who has dropped the clutch and hit the accelerator, exploding from zero to 100 in spectacular fashion.

He commands respect within the inner sanctum, and it was no surprise that he was endorsed by key football department staff and the playing group as Bode’s successor.

Panos will now roll up his sleeves and get down to the nitty-gritty of leading the club to a continued era of sustained success.

Senior Coach, Jarrod Cotton said Panos reflected the team’s chosen values.

“Matt has been an elite player at our football club over a very long period,” Cotton said.

“A best and fairest winner, Jack Oatey Medallist and a prominent figure in the leadership group over a number of years, Panos exemplifies what we are all about both on and off the field.

“Everyone at the club is really pumped and excited about what Matthew can bring to the group which puts us in good stead heading into 2020 and beyond.”

Matthew Panos in action against Centrals in 2018.

Matthew Panos snapshot

Born: January 25, 1991
Debut: Glenelg, 1st August 2009
Games: 113
Goals: 125
Number: 4

Career Accolades

Premierships: 2014
Best and Fairest: 2015
Jack Oatey Medal: 2014
Advertiser Team of the Year: 2014, 2017, 2018
South Australian Games: 1