NFC Senior Men

Five Redlegs named in State Team


At least five players are poised to make their debut for the West End State Team against the WAFL in Sunday’s KIA State Game in Perth.

Norwood’s Baynen Lowe has been named in the Forward Pocket, Tom Donnelly at Centre Half Back, Mitch O’Neill in the Centre, and Billy Cootee and Matt Ling on an extended Interchange Bench.

With three players still to be trimmed from the 26-man squad, the Croweaters have named ruck Amos Doyle, forwards Aiden Grace and Connor McFadyen and defensive trio Luke Beecken, Brinn Little and Donnelly to make a start against the Sandgropers at Optus Stadium.

West End State team coach Jade Rawlings will put his team through its paces on Thursday night at West Lakes before the team flies out on Saturday for the contest at 2.15pm SA time, which will be the curtain-raiser to the West Coast v Melbourne AFL match.

SA’s revamped forward line will feature North premiership veteran Mitch Harvey and Sturt’s Connor McFadyen in the key posts while Grace will assume the role as a mobile third tall target inside attacking 50m.

Norwood premiership defender Donnelly and Bulldog Brinn Little have been named in the key back positions while Beecken will be encouraged to provide his trademark dash off half-back.

West End State captain Joey Sinor will start in the centre square, alongside Magarey Medallist Campbell Combe and inform Redleg O’Neill as they work with Double Blues ruckman Doyle to gain an advantage at the stoppages.

Among the players unavailable for selection are Glenelg’s Liam McBean (hamstring) and Lachie Hosie (broken hand), Eagle Riley Knight (calf), Bulldogs midfielder Harry Grant (knee), West defender Josh Ryan (hamstring), as well as Norwood ruckman Harry Boyd and Sturt rover Will Snelling.

The KIA State Game will be screened live and free via SANFL Now and AFL Live Official App and


KIA State Game Team Selections

KIA State Game – 2.15pm (SA time)
Sunday May 19 at Optus Stadium, Perth


F: Baynen Lowe, Mitch Harvey, Aiden Grace

HF: James Rowe, Connor McFadyen, Luke Reynolds

C: Harrison Wigg, Joseph Sinor, Casey Voss

HB: Chris Curran, Tom Donnelly, Luke Beecken

B: Will Coomblas, Brinn Little, Jez McLennan


R: Amos Doyle, Mitch O’Neill, Campbell Combe

INT: Matt Allen, Kobe Ryan, Frank Szekely, Billy Cootee, Corey Lyons, Eamon Wilkinson, Riley Holder, Matt Ling

NEW: Aiden Grace (Central), Connor McFadyen (Sturt), Tom Donnelly (Norwood), Luke Beecken (Eagles), Brinn Little (Central), Amos Doyle (Sturt), Kobe Ryan (West), Billy Cootee (Norwood), Riley Holder (Glenelg), Matt Ling (Norwood)



F: Oliver Eastland, Trey Ruscoe, Jed Hagan

HF: Ben Sokol, Tyler Keitel, Matthew Parker

C: Jesse Turner, Angus Schumacher, Greg Clark

HB:  Zac Guadagnin, Harrison Macreadie, Cameron Eardley

B: Jacob Blight, Matthew Jupp, Michael Sellwood


R: Brynn Teakle, Mitch Crowden, Nik Rokahr

INT: Bailey Rogers, Angus Scott, Stan Wright, Fraser Turner, Milan Murdock, Jack Sears, Jye Chalcraft, Chad Pearson

Norwood’s Tom Donnelly will line up at Centre Half Back for South Australia on Sunday.