Club News

McKenzie and Douglas awarded joint winners of Michael Taylor Medal

THE NORWOOD Football Club celebrated the 2020 season at the Adelaide Oval on Saturday night, as skilful defender Brad McKenzie and new recruit Richard Douglas were awarded joint winners of the Michael Taylor Medal.

McKenzie is the first Redleg since James Gallagher in 2007-08 who has won the Best and Fairest back to back, while Douglas had a sensational first year at the Parade capped off with a Michael Taylor Medal.

Team of the Year Ruckman Sam Baulderstone featured prominently in the count finishing second, while hard-working defender Mitch Wilkins finished third.

The ever-reliable Cameron Shenton finished fourth, while Geelong VFL recruit, Nik Rokahr starred in his first year at the Parade finishing fifth overall.

Exciting youngster Sam Morris took out the Reserves Best and Fairest with bustling forward Lachlan Pascoe finishing second.

See below for a full list of award winners.

2020 Award Winners:

Club Champion – Brad McKenzie and Richard Douglas

Runner Up – Sam Baulderstone

3rd Place – Mitch Wilkins

Woods Medallist – Matthew Nunn

Coaches Team Acts Award – Matthew Nunn

Garry McIntosh (Best Team Man) – Nik Rokahr

Leading Goalkicker – Tom Pinyon (26 Goals)

McCallum Trophy (Rising Star Award) – Cam Ball

Reserves Best and Fairest – Sam Morris

Reserves Runner-Up – Lachlan Pascoe

Coaches Trophy – Brad Ficken

Women’s Club Champion – Matilda Zander and Sophie Armitstead

Women’s Runner Up – Rhiannon Busch

Best Team Player – Sophie Armitstead

Volunteer of the Year – Kirsty Fendt

Trainer of the Year – Shayne Faulkner

Full Leaderboard:

Position Name Votes
1 Richard Douglas / Brad McKenzie 42
2 Sam Baulderstone 41
3 Mitch Wilkins 37
4 Cameron Shenton 36
5 Nik Rokahr 36
6 Matthew Nunn 33
7 Mitch Grigg 32
8 Matthew Panos 31
9 Cam Ball 31
10 Tom Pinyon 29