NFC Senior Men

Nik Rokahr wins first ever Michael Taylor Medal

THE NORWOOD Football Club celebrated the 2021 season at the Adelaide Oval on Wednesday night, as consistent midfielder Nik Rokahr was awarded winner of the Michael Taylor Medal for the first time in his short Norwood career.

Arriving from Shepparton at the end of 2019, Rokahr started his Norwood career as a small defender throughout the beginning of the 2020 SANFL season. With an opportunity to establish himself in the Norwood midfield, Rokahr didn’t look back as his ability to win the contested ball and spread from stoppage saw him play primarily as a midfielder in the final six games.

In 2021, the 25-year-old played the whole season in the engine room, alongside the likes of Mitch Grigg, Richard Douglas, Jacob Kennerley and Matthew Nunn.

He averaged 22.9 disposals going at 87% efficiency. Rokahr led the club also for clearances and inside 50s capping off a sensational second year at the Parade.

Team of the Year half-forward Richard Douglas featured prominently in the count finishing second, while classy defender Declan Hamilton finished third.

Young defender bettered his 2020 season finishing fourth, while former Cat and Norwood junior Jacob Kennerley capped off an impressive return to the Parade finishing fifth.

Exciting youngster Mitch Cotter took out the Reserves Best and Fairest with hard-working forward Peter Bampton finishing second.

See below for a full list of award winners.

Club Champion – Nikolaus Rokahr
Runner Up – Richard Douglas
3rd Place – Declan Hamilton
Woods Medallist – Declan Hamilton
Garry McIntosh League Trademark Player – Josh Richards
Leading Goalkicker – Cameron Shenton
McCallum Trophy (Rising Star Award) – Henry Nelligan
Reserves Best and Fairest – Mitch Cotter
Reserves Runner-Up – Peter Bampton
Reserves Trademark Player – Mitch Cotter
Women’s Club Champion – Sophie Armitstead
Women’s Runner Up – Emma Clark
Support Staff Member of the Year – Peter Nanotti
Trainer of the Year – Shayne Faulkner
Club Person of the Year – Stephen Carr

Final Leaderboard:

Position Name Votes
1 Nik Rokahr 84
2 Richard Douglas 78
3 Declan Hamilton 69
4 Cameron Ball 60
5 Jacob Kennerley 58
6 Mitch Grigg 52
7 Harry Boyd 48
7 Jack Heard 48
9 Michael Knoll 47
10 Henry Nelligan 43