NFC Senior Men

Norwood claims six-point win in SANFL Trial

Norwood ruckman Jordan Neal competing in a ruck contest during the SANFL Trial Match on Saturday.

Norwood took on North Adelaide in the first SANFL Trial Match of the 2024 campaign in stinking hot conditions at Coopers Stadium on Saturday morning. 

The Redlegs led for most of the contest and came away with a 8.9-57 to 7.9-51 victory.

Xavier Tranfa kicked two goals, while Mitch Carroll, Billy Cootee, Izaak Twelftree, Goy Lok, Finn Heard and Jackson Callow where the other goal kickers.

Off-season recruits Mitch O’Neill (South Adelaide) and Dom White (Tasmania) looked good through the midfield, while Cootee (Essendon) was lively in a forward-midfield role – kicking a nice goal from 50m towards The Parade End.

22-year-old key forward Twelftree (who played two SANFL games last season) took some strong marks in the forward line, as did full forward Callow who had several shots at goal during the second half. Callow will be hoping for more continuity in his football this season following an injury plagued return to Norwood last year.

Small forwards Tranfa and Henry Nelligan also looked dangerous when the ball hit the deck.

Others to pull on the Norwood guernsey for the first time were Jordon Boyle (West Adelaide), Zac Morris (Tasmania), George McLeod (Sturt), and Jordan Neal (PAC), while Alastair Lord (Essendon) and Cooper Murley (Collingwood) had good first hitouts in their return to the club from the AFL.

The Reserves Trial was cancelled due to heat.

Norwood plays its next Trial Match on Saturday, March 16 (1:10pm) against South Adelaide in Noarlunga.



Norwood 3.2, 6.5, 7.6, 8.9 – 57

North Adelaide 3.0, 4.2, 6.5, 7.9 – 51

Goals: Tranfa 2, M Carroll, Cootee, Twelftree, Lok, F Heard, Callow


Trial Match Team:

2 Baynen Lowe
5 Pierce Seymour
6 Thomas Donnelly
7 Jackson Callow
9 Henry Nelligan
10 Declan Hamilton
13 Billy Cootee
14 Mitch O’Neill
16 Alastair Lord
18 Tom Graham
20 Matthew Ling
21 Xavier Tranfa
22 Jordon Boyle
24 Dom White
25 Connor McLean
27 Cooper Murley
29 Izaak Twelftree
35 Jack Heard
36 Jake Cresswell
37 Isaac Saywell
38 Goy Lok
40 Finn Heard
43 Zac Morris
48 Mitchell Carroll
53 George McLeod
62 Jordon Neal