Club News

SA U16 Girls win 2024 AFL National Championship


South Australia has barnstormed its way to its second consecutive AFL U16 Girls National Championship, accounting for Western Australia by 95 points in Game 2 at Thebarton Oval.

After defeating Victoria Metro convincingly by 63 points in Game 1, the Croweaters were at it again against the Sandgropers as they kept their rivals to just one goal for the contest while leading at every change.

As many as 10 SA players registered their name on the goal kickers list as midfielder Georgie Fielder was rated as the hosts’ best performer for the afternoon.

West Adelaide’s Emily Mableson, who made her Hostplus SANFLW League debut in Round 1, was a fitting winner of SA’s Most Valuable Player Award after her performances across both contests.

SA coach Bek McMahon, who guided the Croweaters’ to last year’s historic title, and captain Emma Charlton enjoyed the spoils of victory after the contest.

The strength of the SANFLW pathway is not only illustrated by winning the national crown for two years in a row but by this year’s staggering cumulative scoreline of 26.22 (178) to 2.8 (20) across both outings in 2024.

SA U16 Coach Bek McMahon (left) and captain Emma Charlton. Picture – Peter Argent


South Australia  5.2  8.6  12.8  16.10 (106)

Western Australia  0.0  1.0  1.2  1.5 (11)

BEST – SA: Georgie Fielder, Emily Mableson, Layla Vizguadis, Emma Charlton, Jyearah Newchurch, Charlee Brooksby

GOALS – SA: Taya Maxwell 3, Kate Alexander, Emma Chalrton, Charlee Brooksby, Lillian Thomas 2, Polly Turner, Tara Lord, Georgie Fielder, Layla Vizgaudis, Jyearah Newchurch

SA MVP – Emily Mableson (West Adelaide)

At Thebarton Oval

SA U16 Girls MVP – Emily Mableson (West Adelaide). Picture – Peter Argent