Club News

SA U18 Team Selection – Game 1


South Australia has named a strong line-up to open its 2024 Marsh AFL U18 National Championships campaign against the Allies at Thebarton Oval on Sunday.

Coming off an encouraging 27-point win against the SA U20 team last Saturday, the Croweaters will be looking for a positive start to their four-match carnival after succumbing to the combined outfit of Queensland, NSW/ACT, Tasmania and the Northern Territory last year.

Coached by Tony Bamford, South Australia’s potent attack features in-form Central District forward Charlie Nicholls, who claimed SA U18’s MVP award last weekend for his three goals and strong aerial display.

Nicholls will be joined inside 50m by exciting prospect Ned Bowman, fellow Bulldog Tallan Rosenzweig and Adelaide father-son prospect Tyler Welsh.

South Adelaide’s Ryan Borlace will start in the ruck as he looks to feed his captain and fellow Panther Sid Draper, who made an encouraging return last weekend after suffering a shin setback this season.

Ball magnets Ben Camporeale and Sam Cumming will also start inside the centre square with Lucas Camporeale and Harley Barker to provide plenty of run, and classy ball use, on the wings.

Intercept-marking pair Tate Delmenico and Jacob Sheean will be valuable pillars in the Croweaters’ back six while bottom-age prospect Dyson Sharp will continue his development off half-back.

After the opener against the Allies, SA will face Victoria Country on Sunday June 9 at IKON Park in Melbourne before returning home to host Western Australia (Sunday June 16) and Victoria Metro (Sunday June 30) at Alberton Oval.

Starting at 11am SA time, the clash against the Allies will be streamed live at and the AFL Live App

SA’s Ben Camporeale will be a key cog in the midfield against the Allies. Picture – Peter Argent

SA U18 Team - Game 1

Sunday May 26
2024 AFL U18 National Championships
South Australia v Allies from 11am at Thebarton Oval
Live broadcast at and the AFL app


F: Tyler Welsh, Tallan Rosenzweig, Evan Bradley

HF: Ned Bowman, Charlie Nicholls, Jacob Newton

C: Lucas Camporeale, Sid Draper, Harley Barker

HB: Jett Hasting, Tate Delmenico, Dyson Sharp

B: Jacob Sheean, Harry Ramm, Angus Clarke


R: Ryan Borlace, Ben Camporeale, Sam Cumming

INT:  Louis Montgomery, Noah Howes, Kade Herbert, Phoenix Hargrave, Harry Dodd, Thomas McKay, Dakota Sterzl

SA U18 captain Sid Draper made a successful return from a shin injury against the SA U20 team. Picture – Peter Argent