Club News

SANFL U14 competition kicks off in 2024

Norwood U14 player Loki Bown. Son of Norwood 200-gamer Stuart Bown.

An emphasis on fundamentals and skill development will be the focus for coaches when SANFL launches its inaugural U14 competition at Norwood Oval on Friday night.

Norwood will host West Adelaide at Norwood Oval from 5:30pm tonight (Friday, February 23) to kick off the U14 competition.

In an historic first, SANFL has established an U14 competition as its eight clubs play each other once across a seven round season.

But there will be a much sharper resolve to entrench the basics of Australian Football amongst all players as they begin their talent pathway in the nation’s strongest State League.

Speaking on SANFL Radio, SANFL Head of Talent Brenton Phillips also said coaches had been encouraged to use players in a series of different positions throughout the season, so they are exposed to multiple roles.

The SANFL U14 competition will conclude by the weekend of Saturday April 13, ensuring the impact on metropolitan and country community clubs is minimised.

A feature of the 2024 fixture will be on Sunday March 24, when North Adelaide hosts Norwood at Whyalla, in the heart of the Roosters’ regional zone and bordering the Redlegs’ rural region.

Both the Roosters and Redlegs plan to expose their most talented country juniors in the Round 5 contest.

SANFL U14 matches towards the end of the season will be played in conjunction with SANFL U16 and U18 games, giving players an insight where their pathway will lead to once they compete in the U15 Intrastate Carnival the following year.

At the conclusion of the U14 season, each club coach will nominate six players to join either the Adelaide or Port Adelaide Next Generation Academy.

These 48 players (24 Crows and 24 Power) will then undertake an intensive four-week elite program, together with their coaches, in the lead up to an inaugural U14 NGA match being played in July.

By Zac Milbank SANFL & Josh Teakle NFC


1) Anthony Centofanti – Athelstone

2) Toby Cranwell – Tea Tree Gully

3) Jack Story – Tea Tree Gully

4) Kalani Fraser – Tea Tree Gully

5) Harry Summerton – PNU

6) Ethan Hewitt – Golden Grove

7) Tom Goldsworthy – Glenunga

8) Archie Diestel-Feddersen – Hectorville

9) Max Rossetto – Hectorville

10) Thomas Ford – Athelstone

11) Charles Johnson – Walkerville

12) Luke Fanning – Walkerville

13) Henry Emanuele – Hectorville

14) Chase Norris – Tea Tree Gully

15) Lucas Maschotta – Tea Tree Gully

17) Harry Chung – Athelstone

18) Zayd El-Hosni (Vice Captain) – Walkerville

19) Loki Bown – Walkerville

20) Ethan Bertram – Tea Tree Gully

22) Sebastian Giannitto – Hectorville

23) Harley Jackson – PNU

24) Liam Skinner – PNU

25) Jesse Speyer – Tea Tree Gully

26) Cruz Di Santo – Athelstone

27) Eddie Burton – Modbury

28) Tarhj Smith – Athelstone

29) Sidney Genesin (Captain) – Hectorville

30) Tex Clark (Vice Captain) – Tea Tree Gully

31) Theo Poulton – Walkerville

32) Harry McCarthur – Tea Tree Gully

33) Malik Osman – Tea Tree Gully

34) Brock Langeluddecke – Walkerville

35) Patrick Boehm – Tea Tree Gully

COACH – Michael Niedzwiecki