NFC Senior Women

SANFLW – Tesharna Maher wins first ever Best and Fairest Award

THE NORWOOD Football Club celebrated the 2022 SANFLW season at the Wolf Blass Community Centre on Friday night, as speedster Tesharna Maher won her first Best and Fairest award.

Maher thrived in her role as a permanent midfielder in Season 2022.

The dominant midfielder played 8 of 13 games in 2022 and was impressive averaging 16 disposals and four tackles per game.

Maher had a slow start to the season, which saw her play her first game in Round four against South Adelaide.

Gun midfielder and now Port Adelaide player, Sachi Syme led the count early after the first seven rounds before Maher put her foot on the accelerator trailing by just one vote after Round nine.

Maher was then not to be denied leading the count from then on finishing with a total of 110 votes.

Syme capped off an impressive year by finishing second with 97 votes, while dual Best and Fairest winner Sophie Armitstead finished third with 97.

Tough inside midfielder Lana Schwerdt finished fourth, while now Port Adelaide player Jade Halfpenny had another impressive year finishing fifth overall.

Hayley Cornish took out the Development Squad Best and Fairest, while Molly Brooksby took out the Best First Year Player.

2022 Award Winners

Best and Fairest – Tesharna Maher

Runner Up – Sachi Syme

League Leading Goalkicker – Alana Lishmund

League Women’s Coaches Award – Shai Hiscock

Rising Star – Lana Schwerdt

Best First Year Player – Molly Brooksby

Development Squad Best and Fairest – Hayley Cornish

Development Squad Runner Up – Isabel Martin

Development Squad Leading Goalkicker – Tess Maple

Development Squad Coaches Award – Shanae Walker

Final Leaderboard:

Position Player Votes
1 Tesharna Maher 110
2 Sachi Syme 97
3 Sophie Armitstead 95
4 Lana Schwerdt 84
5 Jade Halfpenny 76
6 Alana Lishmund 69
7 Alison Ferrall 65
8 Nicola Burns 63
9 Leah Cutting 48
10 Shai Hiscock 42