2022 SA Wheelchair Football Team’s National Championships results


South Australia will be looking to resume its dominance when it spins into the 2022 Toyota Wheelchair AFL National Championships in Melbourne from November 22 to 25.

The Croweaters are eager to test themselves against the nation’s best for the first time since 2019, with the past two campaigns cancelled due to Covid-19.

This disrupted an incredible era of success for SA, having won four national titles in succession from 2016 to 2019.

At the forefront of those triumphs as a player was 2022 SA coach Giang Danh, who is this year guiding the talented crop of 10 footballers from the Novita SANFL Wheelchair Football League.

Speaking on SANFL Radio, Danh said the standard of Wheelchair football had risen as a result of the Novita SANFL Wheelchair Football League’s introduction.

This will hold the Croweaters in good stead when confronting rival States, with Danh noting arch-enemy Victoria’s physical style of play in its local competition.

Danh said it was tough to trim SA’s squad down from 16 players to 10 with Norwood having four players selected in the line-up, including captain Grant Leonard.

Sturt, Central District and Woodville-West Torrens each had two players chosen.

2022 SA Wheelchair Football Team

Player SANFL Club
Darren Peters Central
Jamie Smyth Central
Grant Leonard (captain) Norwood
Michael Neroni Norwood
Richard Davis Norwood
Wayne Hale Norwood
Hallam Chitty Sturt
Steven Avery Sturt
Mark Sicolo Woodville-West Torrens
Trevor Jarrett Woodville-West Torrens